Ask Your Question
0

Some of my students have noticed that their editors are different from other students, and they are not sure how they chose this (visual v. regular editor). More orientation on this feature is advisable, I think.

asked 2018-01-23 14:39:35 -0600

Some of my students have noticed that their editors are different from other students, and they are not sure how they chose this (visual v. regular editor). More orientation on this feature is advisable, I think.

edit retag flag offensive close merge delete

1 answer

Sort by ยป oldest newest most voted
0

answered 2018-01-23 15:03:42 -0600

updated 2018-01-23 15:08:31 -0600

The reason that some students may only see one version over the other is that Wikipedia's default setting is to remember the last editor that the account used. So for instance, if a student edits an article in source mode, it will then default to editing in source mode. Since article and user talk pages can only be edited in source mode, it's not uncommon for an account to default to source editor.

However students can enable both editors on their account by adjusting the settings in their account preferences. We have some directions on this here.

edit flag offensive delete link more

Your Answer

Please start posting anonymously - your entry will be published after you log in or create a new account.

Add Answer

[hide preview]

Question Tools

Stats

Asked: 2018-01-23 14:39:35 -0600

Seen: 10 times

Last updated: Jan 23