Ask Your Question
0

How do I remove an article I accidentally posted to Wikipedia?

asked 2017-08-21 10:56:05 -0500

I accidentally posted something live that I didn't mean to! How can I get this sent back to my draftspace or get it deleted?

edit retag flag offensive close merge delete

1 answer

Sort by ยป oldest newest most voted
0

answered 2017-08-21 10:56:16 -0500

Removing an article from the mainspace depends on where you've posted it and what you want done with it.

If you posted your content to an article that already exists on Wikipedia then you can revert your additions by going to the page's edit history and selecting the edit prior to your first edit to the page. Click on that edit and it will bring up the prior version of the page. Saving this version will revert your edits. Be careful, however - if your edit contained copyright violations or plagiarism, you should make sure to notify an administrator or your Content Expert so that edit can be deleted.

image description

image description

If you moved this to a new space, then you can remove the content via two ways. One is to request that the page and its history be deleted by tagging it with {{u1}}. The other is to move the content back to your userspace to a name like User:YourName/DraftName and then ask that the redirect be deleted using the same tag. If you delete the page's history entirely then you will be unable to access that content unless you talk to an administrator.

Related questions

edit flag offensive delete link more

Your Answer

Please start posting anonymously - your entry will be published after you log in or create a new account.

Add Answer

[hide preview]

Question Tools

1 follower

Stats

Asked: 2017-08-21 10:56:05 -0500

Seen: 3 times

Last updated: Aug 21