Ask Your Question

Revision history [back]

Hi Jrradney!

The reason that some students may only see one version over the other is that Wikipedia's default setting is to remember the last editor that the account used. So for instance, if a student edits an article in source mode, it will then default to editing in source mode. Since article and user talk pages can only be edited in source mode, it's not uncommon for an account to default to source editor.

However students can enable both editors on their account by adjusting the settings in their account preferences. We have some directions on this here.

Hi Jrradney!

The reason that some students may only see one version over the other is that Wikipedia's default setting is to remember the last editor that the account used. So for instance, if a student edits an article in source mode, it will then default to editing in source mode. Since article and user talk pages can only be edited in source mode, it's not uncommon for an account to default to source editor.

However students can enable both editors on their account by adjusting the settings in their account preferences. We have some directions on this here.