Ask Your Question

Revision history [back]

You can set your editing mode of choice (including allowing both tabs) in your account preferences. Under the "Editing" tab you will see a choice for "Editing mode", allowing you to pick between:

  • Always give me the source editor
  • Always give me the VisualEditor if possible
  • Show me both tabs
  • Remember my last editor

The "source editor" here is the editor which uses Wikipedia markup and the VisualEditor is the default What You See is What You Get (WYSIWYG) editor.

You can set your editing mode of choice (including allowing both tabs) in your account preferences. Under the "Editing" tab you will see a choice for "Editing mode", allowing you to pick between:

  • Always give me the source editor
  • Always give me the VisualEditor if possible
  • Show me both tabs
  • Remember my last editor

The "source editor" here is the editor which uses Wikipedia markup and the VisualEditor is the default What You See is What You Get (WYSIWYG) editor.

As of May 2016 all new Wikipedia accounts will have the source automatically enabled. If you created your account after this point, you may need to take an extra step to enable the VisualEditor. On the same page, MAKE SURE "Temporarily disable the visual editor while it is in beta" is not checked. Editing section of the menu

You can set your editing mode of choice (including allowing both tabs) in your account preferences. Under the "Editing" tab you will see a choice for "Editing mode", allowing you to pick between:

  • Always give me the source editor
  • Always give me the VisualEditor if possible
  • Show me both tabs
  • Remember my last editor

The "source editor" here is the editor which uses Wikipedia markup and the VisualEditor is the default What You See is What You Get (WYSIWYG) editor.

As of May 2016 all new Wikipedia accounts will have the source editor automatically enabled. If you created your account after this point, you may need to take an extra step to enable the VisualEditor. On the same page, MAKE SURE "Temporarily disable the visual editor while it is in beta" is not checked. Editing section of the menu