Ask Your Question

Revision history [back]

You don't need permission to make changes to an article in Wikipedia. By the same token, anyone can revert your edits. If work is reverted, do not simply undo the revision without a discussion.

Start by looking for the rationale given by the person doing the revert. The preferred place for doing so is on the article's talk page, so check there first. Often people give their reasons in their edit summary, which is available on the history tab of the article. They may also have used your Talk page. If they have not posted a reason, use the reverter's Talk page. Regardless, do not undo the edit without attempting to discuss the issue.

You don't need permission to make changes to an article in Wikipedia. By the same token, anyone can revert your edits. edits or delete your article. If work is reverted, do not simply undo the revision without a discussion.discussion. By the same extension, do not automatically re-add an article if it is deleted.

Start by looking for the rationale given by the person doing the revert. The preferred place for doing so is on the article's talk page, so check there first. Often people give their reasons in their edit summary, which is available on the history tab of the article. They may also have used your Talk page. If they have not posted a reason, use the reverter's Talk page. Regardless, do not undo the edit without attempting to discuss the issue.

The same premise applies with a deleted article. Even though the article is deleted, there should be a rationale on the page for its deletion. It should look like this:

image description

The deletion summary should give you an overview of why the page was deleted and if it was deleted via the Articles for Deletion process, it should give you a link to that discussion. You may want to ask the administrator who deleted the page for more explanation and for what you can do to improve the page. You can also ask to have the content restored to your sandbox or userspace or e-mailed to you, however the admin is not required to do this. The best thing to do in this situation is communicate with others.